Bishop Chavasse Church of England Primary School

Google Translate

Google Translate

Home Page

Bishop Chavasse

Church of England Primary School

Content Slideshow

Local Governing Body

Currently Bishop Chavasse has seven governors.


Cherie Sargent           Chair of Governors

Rev. Miriam Barker     

Anne Gibbins

Andy Page

Susie Braid

Zoe Loveridge              Parent Governor



All Governors are Trust appointed, with the exception of the parent governor who was elected by parents.  We currently have a vacancy for a parent governor and a staff governor.  Governor elections will be held in the Autumn term to fill these two important vacancies. 


Our local governing body also includes the headteacher, Mrs Donna Weeks. 


Our Clerk to the Governors is Maria Campbell.


As a new school, our governing body meets once every long term, three times a year, as well as during additional meetings for training opportunities etc.  


The roles and responsibilities of the Local Governing Body are:

Standards and Safeguarding

Ethos, Character and Local Traditions

Working with Parents and the Local Community


Further details of the LGB's roles and responsibilities are contained in the Terms or Reference (TOR 2017-18) document below.  


Individual governors also take on specific responsibilities as “link governors” for areas of the curriculum and all aspects of the school’s life.  These are detailed in the Bishop Chavasse Local Governing Body document below.


The Chair of Governors, Miss Cherie Sargent, can be contacted in writing via the Clerk to the Governing Body, Mrs Maria Campbell, either by post using the school postal address, or by email [email protected] 


We are fortunate to have such a dedicated board of governors who are very active within the school; regularly coming into Bishop Chavasse and sharing in the learning taking place.